Calm by Pleasing God

By Lynn Wallace

 

For he commandeth, and raiseth the stormy wind, which lifteth up the waves thereof…He maketh the storm a calm, so that the waves thereof are still” (Psa. 107:25, 29).

Jesus stilled the storm and made it a calm when His disciples cried out, “Save us: we perish” (Matt. 8:25). He also gives us a calm in our souls when we please him.

Storms came into my soul when I thought, I cannot do anything about my emotions. Without realizing it, I had failed to trust God who can do the impossible. At that time I neglected to apply my life verse, “Faithful is he that calleth you, who also will do it” (1 Thess. 5:24). Three times nervous breakdowns disabled me after I came to Christ. Each time I returned home from a field of service.

After I went to the Navajo mission field, and met the man who became my husband, I suffered no more breakdowns. However, I still thought, I cannot do anything about my nerves. I bypassed their true names: burdens, worries, anxieties. My pastor counseled me, “Lynn, you carry too many burdens.” I did not understand the simple verse, “Casting all your care upon Him, for He careth for you” (1Pet. 5:7). In my heart I kept calling them “nerves.” It took years for me to grasp the truth of this Scripture.

After my husband passed on to Heaven, I experienced blessed communion with my Lord. My “nerves” took flight. On the following night, the devil battled against me. My “nerves” started to return. I prayed, “Lord, please take them away.” Again they flew away. Now, troubles still face me, but I am learning to cast my cares upon Jesus. When tempests come, the Captain gives a calm. “My peace I give unto you,” He promises me in 1 John 15:27.

We all face an enemy. Satan and his allies challenge us daily in warfare. Though we cannot see him, he is real. If we allow the Captain to lead us, we will win. However, when we insist on our own way, it does not please the Lord. Then we will fall into the devil’s traps. God’s Logbook says, Greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world (1 John 4:4). Let us continually remember that our Captain is greater than our enemy.

What can we do? Jesus tells us to put on the gospel armor which He provides (Eph. 6:10-18). His Logbook tells us, “Pray in the Holy Spirit” (Jude 20). He warns us to watch out for the enemy and endure hardness. In this way, we can please this Lord. Trust in Him, and God will give us the victory.

Leave a comment